words can refresh as well as wear

I had to miss the beginning poetry class last week due to trial in California, so tonight was my first class.  Although I’m sure my few attempts to date are bad, poetry is surprisingly fun and freeing, in a way that I didn’t find fiction to be.  Of course, it’s also much shorter, but I’m sure you can put the same amount of hours in for rewriting, editing, etc., if you so choose.  Sometimes I think that I am so tired of words, after using them all day in my job, but when you’re in the loop process of choosing words and then following where those words lead you, it’s very refreshing.

We had to bring a “favorite” poem to class.  I don’t have a longstanding favorite, but did connect with this e.e. cummings poem over the weekend.


i thank You God for most this amazing

day: for the leaping greenly spirits of trees

and a blue true dream of sky; and for everything

which is natural which is infinite which is yes

 

I since read that this is only the first stanza, but I love the resolution and spirit of the last line so much that I want it to be the last line of the entire poem.  So here, it will be.  You’ll have to look elsewhere for the rest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

